Home > Events > Societies & Cells > Student Societies

Student Societies

Library & Reading Room Committee

Chairperson: Ms.Neesha Vinchu
Ex – Officio: Dr. Sangeeta Godbole, Mr. Uddhav Zharekar, Ms. Divya Bhatnagar, Ms. Shilpa More, Ms. Cellina Fernandes
Secretary: Ms Karen D’souza

The Reading Room is associated with the Library. There is a committee organized every year to conduct different activities for the society. Committee has a Student Secretary, Joint Secretary, Treasurer and members. There are five senior teachers as Ex officio and Librarian is a Chair Person of the Committee. The student members get Certificate at the end of the academic year from the Principal in the Annual Fiction Fest.

In addition to these activities The Reading Room also recruit students for Discipline committee, Notice board Committee and vigilance committee for the Library.

Book displays are organized on the various events like Gandhi Jayanti, Legislation Day, Vachan Prerana Din, etc. The Book Donation Drive was organized on 23rd and 24th August 2016. Around 900 books were on display across various subjects. The response was overwhelming, total 176 staff and students availed this facility by receiving 645 books as donation from the library during this event. Students were impressed by the huge collection of books available and were thankful for the opportunity of pick up books of their interest, free of cost.

The Reading Room society held Exhibition cum Sale of the Fiction books in the “Fiction Fest” on September 1, 2016. The Students of the nearby colleges were invited for this event. This provided a platform to the students to browse the latest books available in the market and a chance to purchase it at the discounted prices. The sale was handled by the student’s representatives of the Reading Room Society. Response from the students as well as the members of the staff was encouraging.

Like every year, the committee gave a platform to the rising writers to unleash their creativity. Digital Ink competition was announced in December for three categories, Short Story Writing, Poetry Writing and book review. The response received from students was excellent and we are happy to announce that this year it has become an intercollegiate competition. The Last year competition was judged by Ms. Celina Fernandes and Ms. Khushbu Giria, Ms.Kajal Advani, Ms.Twinkle Rathod secured prizes in the poetry writing and Mr. Jash Shah secured first prize in the short story writing. The winners will be awarded certificates for their work. The enthusiasm of the students reassured us of their support.

Ask the Librarian:
For suggestions or queries you can write to the Librarian: jhclib@gmail.com

Jai Hind College Gymkhana

Literary and Debating Society


The Social And Dramatic Union